Yoga Nidra Self Healing

th (32)

I want to share my profound experience today in yoga nidra practice. Yoga nidra or “yogic sleep” is a sleep-like state which yogis report to experience during their meditations. Yoga nidra, lucid sleeping is among the deepest possible states of relaxation while still maintaining full consciousness. The distinguishing difference is the degree to which one remains cognizant of the actual physical environment as opposed to a dream environment. In lucid dreaming, one is only (or mainly) cognizant of the dream environment, and has little or no awareness of one’s actual environment.

We first began with some gentle stretching and movements on the yoga mat while lying down.  During this period, I felt very relaxed and any tension was release during this initial practice.  The main part of yoga nidra is a guided form of meditation by the yoga instructor, and we worked deeply through the physical body, energetic body, and emotional body.  As she guided us through the meditation, she asked us to set an intention, and mine was to let go of my past hurt.  During the guided meditation, I began to feel very emotional and began to cry.  I felt floods of feelings of sadness, despair, and loss rise up within me.

At one point, our instructor said to see and hear our spiritual guide who is always with us, and I heard a voice saying, “let go and you shall feel peace and freedom.”  After hearing my guide, I felt this release or shift occur within me, and felt lighter.  I believe this is what my spiritual guide was telling me about this feeling of freedom.  My need to hang onto my dark past and hurt appeared to fall away, and I actually felt freer.  After completing the yoga nidra practice, I continue to cry to release these feelings.

I am feeling very calm and relaxed after this practice and experienced this intense shift within me as I am finally ready to let go of my past, and move forward in my emotional life. May you find peace and freedom for your emotional life. (Copyright 2015 Awakening Journey with All Rights Reserved)

Leave a Reply

